In 2018, L’Étape Australia by Tour de France created the “Wave 0”, accessible to riders selected by Cycling NSW. Our ambition was to showcase the talent of young elite cyclists. In 2019, NRS teams and one UCI Continental team joined the Wave 0 and produced some fantastic racing, with Campbell Jones of Oliver’s Racing Team taking the win.

In 2020, L’Étape Australia will join the National Road Series to have an even stronger field of riders represented at the front of The Race. The Wave 0 will now be accessible to NRS teams only as well as to two teams from NSW that will receive wild cards from the organisers.

This is a fantastic opportunity for L’Étape Australia to offer elite cyclists world-class race conditions in NSW and for all participants to share the road with some of the best cyclists in the country.

The experience will remain unchanged for the thousands of riders taking part in L’Étape Australia by Tour de France. We will keep delivering a unique Tour de France experience on fully closed roads and the Official Tour de France jerseys will only be awarded to amateur riders*:

  • The Yellow Jersey will be awarded to the first amateur rider to cross the finish line;
  • The Polka Dot Jersey will be awarded to the fastest amateur rider across all climbs;
  • The White Jersey will be awarded to the fastest amateur rider under the age of 25.

Two distances will be on offer (details to be communicated in the next coming weeks), with The Race being 138km long and featuring 2,700m of elevation. The courses will also visit the Shoalhaven and the Southern Highlands regions.

Registrations will open on Tuesday 5 May 2020 at 10am at and riders are invited to join our Waiting List to be amongst the first to be given access to the registration platform.