L’Étape Australia replicates a mountainous stage of the Tour de France. It is not an easy ride, but it is a ride you will be able and proud to complete if you train for it.

The 2020 route will start from Kiama and travel through the South Coast, the Shoalhaven and the Southern Highlands. The distance is 136km and the elevation 2,770m.
The Ride, a shorter version of The Race with only one climb, will be released soon.

QOM / KOM Section #1 - Berry Mountain

QOM / KOM Section #2 - Col de Fitzroy

QOM / KOM Section #3 - Saddleback Mountain

Riders registered for L’Étape Australia will compete for the genuine Tour de France distinctive jerseys:

The Yellow Jersey

The Yellow Jersey

The Yellow Jersey will be presented to the first male and female individual to cross the finish line of the Race.

Since 1919, the Yellow Jersey has been used to reward the leader in the general classification. A combination of technical detail and design, the most recent Yellow Jersey (2015) celebrates the 40th Tour de France finish on the Champs-Elysées. This anniversary edition takes us back to the day when French cyclist Bernard Thévenet became the first man to don the Yellow Jersey on the world’s most beautiful avenue.

The Polka-Dot Jersey

The Polka-Dot Jersey

The Polka-Dot Jersey will be presented to the individual male and female Race winners of the King of the Mountain, timed across the three climbs.

The King of the Mountains classification was created in 1933 for the best climbers, first won by Spain’s Vicente Trueba, however the Polka-Dot Jersey only appeared in 1975. France’s Richard Virenque holds the record of most KOM jerseys: he won it seven times between 1994 and 2004.

The White Jersey

The White Jersey

The White Jersey will be presented to the first male and female individual to cross the finish line of the Race aged 25 years or less on the day of the event.

The White Jersey was created in 1975. In 1988, the jersey was abandoned, but not the best young rider classification. The White Jersey was reintroduced in the peloton in 2000 and rewards the best-placed under-25 rider in the overall standings. The jersey revealed some of the best talents in the sport – Denis Menchov in 2003, Alberto Contador in 2007, Andy Schleck from 2008 and 2010, Pierre Rolland in 2012.

Other Prizes

L’Étape Australia by Tour de France will also provide prizes for winners in other categories of the event outside of the iconic Tour de France Jerseys.

Prizes will also be awarded for the following participants:

  • The Men’s Team Prize
  • The Women’s Team Prize
  • The Mixed Team Prize

All Jersey and prize winners must have completed their allocated route in the allowed time to be eligible for awards.